2017 November 3 Past event
1 h 40 min
10.00 - 14.00 €
A concert in anticipation of Lithuania’s 100th anniversary
Start of the Event: 6.30 pm

Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra
Artistic Director Sergej Krylov

Soloists: Robertas Beinaris (oboe), Vaiva Eidukaitytė-Storastienė (harpsichord), Mindaugas Zimkus (tenor)
Conductor Adrija Čepaitė

Programme: Osvaldas Balakauskas, Bronius Kutavičius, Zita Bružaitė, Algirdas Martinaitis

The programme “Impressions” presented by the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra centers on the most outstanding orchestral masterpieces by Lithuanian contemporary composers and features a newly written work by Zita Bružaitė. In this concert the internationally acclaimed Orchestra, continuing to prosper under the artistic leadership of violin virtuoso Sergej Krylov, will appear under the baton of Adrija Čepaitė. “The conductor is merely a mediator of the beauty that is being created. I attempt to invite both performers and listeners to engage in an inner dialogue with the music that dwells in one’s soul,” she said in one of her interviews.

The programme will include the Concerto for oboe, harpsichord and strings by Osvaldas Balakauskas who is celebrating his 80th anniversary this year, and the newly written Adagio for oboe and chamber orchestra by Zita Bružaitė. Oboist Robertas Beinaris, whose career successfully accommodates his multiple talents and activities, such as active concertizing, teaching and initiating new projects, and harpsichordist Vaiva Eidukaitytė-Storastienė will appear as soloists in both works. In addition, the Orchestra will perform Bronius Kutavičius’s Dzūkian Variations, a consummate representation of Lithuanian national ‘character’ in modern music, and Algirdas Martinaitis’s impressive Musical Offering.