The Magic of the Cello Sound

2018 April 27 Past event
1 h 50 min
14.00 - 18.00 €

Start of the Event: 6.30 PM

Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra

Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Modestas Pitrėnas

Conductor Georg Mark (Austria)

Soloist Marta Sudraba (cello, Latvia)

Pēteris Vasks – Presence for cello and strings
Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 1

The Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO) has the privilege to appear at the festival’s closing concert this year. Returning to Klaipėda several times each year and giving an average of 50 concerts per year, the LNSO nurtures long-established traditions which started almost eight decades ago, in 1940. The Orchestra makes notable contribution to the advancement of classical music culture in Lithuania by stimulating and encouraging artistic output by Lithuanian composers and musicians and catering to the public demand for orchestral music, be it large-scale symphonic works or orchestral miniatures.

This programme has a prominent Latvian thread: cellist Marta Sudraba will perform solo in Pēteris Vasks’s Presence. Last spring this internationally acclaimed musician was member of the jury during the 1st Klaipėda Cello Competition. This year she returns as a soloist in the programme “The Magic of the Cello Sound.”

Georg Mark will mount the podium of the LNSO as a guest conductor. Austrian conductor is sometimes called a philosopher in music, because besides conducting he also pursued studies in musicology, philosophy and psychology. His special concern is the combination of new developments in modern performance practice with the Viennese tradition. For this particular reason he chose to conduct Brahms’s First Symphony in this programme.

It took Brahms at least fourteen years to complete his first symphony that was memorably tagged “Beethoven’s Tenth” by German conductor and pianist Hans von Bülow after its premiere in Vienna. Brahms complained: “You can’t have any idea what it’s like always to hear such a giant marching behind you!” Although also taking note of the Beethoven parallels, celebrated Austrian music critic Eduard Hanslick saw Brahms as the rightful heir to the musical legacy of Beethoven and lauded the composition as “one of the most individual and magnificent works of the symphonic literature, an inexhaustible fountain of deep pleasure and fruitful study.”