Closing concert of the festival

2017 May 6 Past event
1 val. 50 min.
10 €

Event start: 7 PM at Klaipeda Concert Hall

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra (Latvia)

Soloists: David Geringas (cello, Lithuania / Germany), Karine Georgian (cello, Armenia / UK), Boris Andrianov (cello, Russia)

Conductor Modestas Pitrėnas

Programme: Piotr Tchaikovsky, Richard Strauss, Edward Elgar

Piotr Tchaikovsky – „Variations on a Rococo Theme“, Op. 33
Edward Elgar – Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in E minor, Op. 85
Richard Strauss – Tone poem „Don Quixote“ for cello and orchestra, Op. 35

The festival will close with the programme of classical masterpieces for solo cello and symphony orchestra, featuring Tchaikovsky’s Variations on A Rococo Theme, Elgar’s Cello Concerto and Strauss’s Don Quixote. This programme will be presented by the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra from the neighbouring harbour city of Liepāja in Latvia. Established 126 years ago, it is one of the oldest and most reputable symphony orchestras in the Baltic States, widely renowned for its excellent quality of sound. We will have an opportunity to be assured of their artistic excellence, as well as to relish the playing of true cello virtuosi who will appear as soloists with the orchestra – Karine Georgian, Boris Andrianov, and David Geringas. Coming from different countries and generations, these musicians, along with the orchestra and its guest conductor Modestas Pitrėnas, will create a magnificent feast of music.