Events and tours

Study of Harmony

2019 September 27 Past event
1 h 50 min
10.00 €
Start of the Event: 6.30 pm 
Place of the event: Klaipėda Concert Hall
Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra
Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Modestas Pitrėnas
Conductor Jonathan Berman (United Kingdom)
Soloists: Joana Daunytė (harp), Rūta Rikterė and Zbignevas Ibelgauptas (piano duo).
With participation of: Brigita Šakalienė, Ieva Skorubskaitė, Ieva Gaidamavičiūtė (sopranos)
Programme: Loreta Narvilaitė, John Adams.

Harmonielehre, German for “study of harmony”, is the title of an orchestral composition by American minimalist composer John Adams. It is also the title piece of the programme presented by the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO). A symphonic composition that earned Adams worldwide renown entrances the listener with relentless rhythmic pulse, intense musical flow and wide dynamic range.
The level of dramatic tension is no less intense in Adams’s earlier Grand Pianola Music, written for two soloing pianos and symphony orchestra, without strings but with an expanded percussion section. The ebullient duo of pianists Rūta Rikterė and Zbignevas Ibelgauptas will demonstrate feats of ma
gic in controlling flames and sparks coming out of the black and white keys and exploding in the finale.
An orchestral piece of poetic Lithuanian minimalism, Skambesys bangų sutampa su dangum (The Sound of Waves Merges with the Sky) by Loreta Narvilaitė performed by virtuoso harpist Joana Daunytė and the LNSO, stands in sharp contrast to the towering works of American minimalism. It was composed for the 2018 Gaida Festival.
British conductor Jonathan Berman was among the participants of the 2017 edition of the festival, conducting the same orchestra. He has earned international acclaim by appearing regularly with various orchestras in Europe and the United States. A champion of new music will return to Lithuania for the performance of Adams and Lithuanian composers with the LNSO at the “Music of Changes” festival at the Klaipėda Concert Hall.

“Study of Harmony” offers a combination of the mellifluous sound of the harp and the ticking time bomb in Adams’s minimalist works. Don’t miss your chance to relish this head-spinning concoction!

1,20 Eur ticketing fee of BILIETAI.LT is applicable for this concert. There are no discounts on the tax.