ONLINE EVENT | How Slow the Wind

Start of the Event: 6.30 pm 
Place of the event: Klaipėda Concert Hall
Kremerata Baltica Soloists:
Džeraldas Bidva, Rakelė Chijenaitė, Dainius Peseckas, Linas Valickas, Ulijona Pugačiukaitė (violins), Monika Kiknadze, Birutė Ilčiukaitė (violas), Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė, Rūta Balčiūtė (cellos), Augustinas Treznickas (double bass)
Artistic Director Gidon Kremer
Soloists: Džeraldas Bidva (violin), Gunta Gelgotė (soprano), Giedrius Gelgotas (flute), Andrius Žiūra (clarinet)
Programme: Antonio Vivaldi-Max Richter, Victoria Poleva, Sergey Akhunov, Philip Glass, Osvaldo Golijov
Kremerata Baltica is a chamber orchestra founded and directed by renowned Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer comprised of the most talented young musicians from the Baltic States – Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia. Today it is known throughout the world for its performances that, according to its founder, should always deliver “a sense of spontaneous music-making that makes a concert dramatic and sensuous, a continuation of the creative process.” Several times the orchestra has appeared at the Klaipėda Concert Hall as well.
The pandemic has strongly affected the touring plans for the Kremerata Baltica. Answering to the situation, the orchestra’s creative approach helped generate an idea to organize a concert using a smaller lineup. This time only the Lithuanian section of the Kremerata Baltica is coming to Klaipėda to perform a charming minimalist programme together with the soloists. The programme has been titled after the piece for voice and orchestra by the Argentine composer living in the United States, Osvaldo Golijov. He says, in his How Slow the Wind, “the voice is a call from a flying spirit, and the strings are the wind,” evoking the feeling of loss of someone close to you. The solo voice part in this subtle work is entrusted to admirable Gunta Gelgotė.
Fans of American minimalism will have an opportunity to enjoy the music of Philip Glass. This programme also offers the ever popular “La primavera” from Antonio Vivaldi’s famous set of four violin concerti, The Four Seasons, reinterpreted in a modern key by the popular British composer of German descent, Max Richter.
The music performed by the masterful soloists of Kremerata Baltica will certainly fill us up with inspiration and good spirits.
We invite you to watch this concert streamed live via the Klaipėda Concert Hall’s:
YouTube channel at
Facebook page at